Is There Any Such Thing as a Right Diet?

In a word, no.

I went out to breakfast with a friend yesterday, a friend who’s lost 70 pounds in the last year by giving up grains and as much sugar as possible (a girl has to have her ketchup, you know). She looks fantastic.

I’m proud of her. I’m happy for her.

I’ve tried that, and while I felt better, the weight didn’t move. In the past when I’ve come down on the side of protein, the weight’s come off pretty well. But not this time.

It’s still stuck. So I change goals for water consumption, exercise routines–Oakley is just not a walker, as I’ve mentioned. I picked up a two-pack of yoga for weight loss DVDs at Target and have been doing one of the 15-30 minute classes daily for the past week. And dance workout DVDs. And the Tiger Warmer, a Chinese medicine device for warming key points for metabolism.

I know wheat and I don’t get along very well these days. Dairy and I play nice in limited amounts, so I don’t worry too much about that. Except for a Coke–and it has to be Coke with sugar, not corn syrup–every year or two, I don’t drink pop.

Everyone is different. One diet that’s helped to heal one person might cause another’s system problems, such as the Paleo diet causing someone with kidney issues problems from the amount of protein. A vegan diet that’s high in carbs won’t do a person with diabetes any favors.

No answer will work for everyone. Try it. If you don’t get the desired results in a reasonable length of time, give something else a shot.

But what do you do when you’ve run out of shots? That I don’t know.

2 thoughts on “Is There Any Such Thing as a Right Diet?

  1. I guess it depends on the reason for dieting. I do believe that some of us are born to be rounder than others. I will never be that skinny, sickly 16 year old again. I’ve had a child, I’m in my fifties, gravity has taken it’s toll. Plus, I come from short, round Irish stock. I want to be the healthiest me there is… but I’ll probably never be Hollywood thin again. And I’m okay with that. Love yourself, put good nourishing food in your body and let the rest go, Wolf Mama. You are beautiful, inside and out!

Leave a Reply

