Noodles, Please

 I just had Indonesian peanut noodles for lunch. Yum.

Noodles have been around for about 5000 years. As are many other food products, they came into being in China and spread through the trade routes to Europe and India. While the story goes that Marco Polo brought them back to Venice in the 1200’s, some forms of pasta already existed in the southern parts of Italy. The shapes that we know today came into existence in the 1600’s.

Heaven She knows I love my pasta and broccoli, and She also knows that I will choose noodles over rice when possible in Asian recipes. It’s a question of texture and flavor. Noodles provide soft ambient music for your dining pleasure; rice in either brown or white form is white noise, a filler and there merely to absorb the sauce or juices. Noodles are pleasantly chewy. Rice in its whole form is just rice, except when fried. 

Lucky for me and other people with gluten and wheat problems, noodles can be made with rice, corn, chickpea, buckwheat, or black bean flour. I like rice flour-based ones for everyday consumption. Yes, you caught me. I still sneak in wheat pasta here and there maybe once a week.

Today’s lunch was procured from a takeout place specializing in noodles. My third trip to the dentist in a week (nothing alarming–cleaning, repair of small chips in my front teeth before they grew large, and a new bite guard to wear at night since I ground holes in the other one) warranted a treat. I had the Indonesian peanut noodles; Hubby had Japanese pan noodles. Delicious, but made with wheat-based udon. 

We both are happy, though. Noodles just have a way of doing that.

Leave a Reply

