Peore es Nada

That’s a Spanish phrase that has two translations: “anything is better” or “nothing is worse.” I don’t know if I spelled it correctly and apologies if I didn’t. 

In this case, let us contemplate the implications pertaining to low carb/low glycemic diets and gluten free products. Perhaps in those cases, the question is one of “better than nothing.” There is a lot of “nothing is worse.” 

I’ve tried several breads that were dry and crumbly. Right now, I’m avoiding desserts just to remove the stress of living with temptation. The rice pastas have been pretty good, but one fell apart when I cooked it according to the package directions. The good news is that a Parmesan covers a lot of errors. 

One gluten-free bread that I found at Costco was pretty good. It has sunflower seeds on top, toasts pretty well, and doesn’t crumble if you look at it sideways. I also made almond bread from nut butter.( http://www.elanaspantry.com/rochels-cashew-bread/ only subbing almond butter for the cashew butter.)  The recipe sounded as if there was no way in this world or the next that it was going to work, but I thought, “what the heck?” and tried it.  It was a wee bit on the dry side, but fine for sweet or savory applications.

Pizza I can’t live without. Many of the low carb and or gluten free crusts are impossible to handle, taste like cardboard, or both. I found a good one here: http://detoxinista.com/2012/01/the-secret-to-perfect-cauliflower-pizza-crust/. It tastes nothing like cauliflower. I promise. I throw in some chopped garlic cloves with the cauliflower while cooking and mix the whole schmeer in the food processor. It is good. I could see making this as smaller flatbreads and using for wraps, even. 

The other issue with gluten free food is cost. The rice pasta isn’t bad, but some of the others such as an almond-flour one that I saw the other day are through the roof ($9 for nine ounces; REALLY?). I’d rather do a plate of wheat pasta once a week or so than pay that kind of money. 

Experiment; use coupons; ask. It’s the only way that you’ll find out if nothing is worse of if anything is better.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Peore es Nada

Leave a Reply

