In Praise of Crock-Pots

I love my Crock-Pots. Yes, plural. 

The 5-quart one is in use as I tap the keys. Two temperature settings, a timer, a nice big display make it perfect for braising a chicken or a pot roast. I’m making a chicken seasoned with garlic and tarragon with red potatoes, carrots, and leeks. I started it at 10:30 so it will be ready at 6 or so. 

The 2-quart one is great for lentil soup or some Indian dishes. I bloom the spices separately and add them for the last half-hour of cooking to keep them tasting fresh.

It’s not quite as good as having someone cook for you, but after a day, it’s not a bad alternative at all.

Leave a Reply

